Grief Counseling

Everyone deals with loss in many different ways. Loosing a loved one can cause several different emotions. Some emotions include but are not limited to: sadness, guilt, loneliness, helplessness and anger.

As one deals with emotional disturbances, physical symptoms can occur as well. Loss of sleep, decreased appetite and frequent headaches are just a few. Dealing with a loss can be extremely difficult, but it is important to go through the commonly known stages of grief. Denial, anger, bargaining and acceptance. These stages hold true for the majority of people.

Denial is a defense mechanism that one may inherit. Acting like nothing has happened is common when a loved one passes away. Anger typically occurs after denial. In this phase, the repressed emotions take over. Having no control over the loss can cause anger inward or outward. Bargaining is when an individual tries to make deals to regain what has been lost. In this stage one may bargain with God, a higher power or with oneself to try to reclaim a loved one. Acceptance occurs when the above stages have been achieved. One is than able to deal with the reality of the loss. This stage can give the loved one the closure that is necessary.

The death of a loved one can be life changing. Immense pain can be associated with one's loss. To some degree, the pain of an unfortunate loved one may never go away. But, the way one deals with grief is very important while trying to heal.

More information at the National Institute of Mental Health

Schedule Appointment

Start your new path in life and be the change today!

Click Here

Helpful Forms

Click here to view and print forms for your appointment.

Click Here